The Imitation Game [REVIEW]

imitation game7885_poster_iphone

I am behind on my Oscar/Golden Globe film watching. I’ve normally seen at least half of them by now and I’m pretty sure Imitation Game is one of the few on the I’ve actually watched.

The film and the performances were great. For people who are fans of historical films then this is another reason to make sure it’s on your list to watch. Though I count myself as a history buff, historical films are sort of like defensive lineman in American Football, because of their categorization they can never become the best of an overall group for me. The reason for this is because my nature is to spend the whole of the film wondering if what is being shown on screen is historically accurate. I watch the film and I start thinking about googling articles like Slate’s How Accurate Is The Imitation Game?

The positive effect of these films is that they inspire me to learn more about subjects I either knew about passively, which is the case with the Imitation Game, or knew nothing about at all.

Books like these get added to my wishlist:

Alan Turing: The Enigma
Alan Turing: Unlocking the Enigma
The Secret Lives of Codebreakers: The Men and Women Who Cracked the Enigma Code at Bletchley Park
Enigma: The Battle for the Code
Enigma: How the Poles Broke the Nazi Code (Polish Histories)

I’ve noticed this inefficiency in my movie watching and I adjust to watching it for what it really is, a story. From that point of view the film is a must see. Benedict Cumberbatch plays a wonderful character based on Alan Turning and is much better than I felt he was in Star Trek. It also gives me an positive introduction to him as the actor most likely to play Dr. Strange.

There isn’t a bad character in this film. All were developed sufficiently and the pacing and action of the film delivered. It received its well deserved nomination at both the Academy Awards and Golden Globes.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Watching Reading Listening Doing

    READING
    Stalingrad: The Fateful Siege: 1942-1943 by Anthony Beevor

    Eat That Frog!: 21 Great Ways to Stop Procrastinating and Get More Done in Less Time by
    Brian Tracy

    Sandman by Neil Gaiman

    LISTENING

    Colored Sands by Gorguts

    Run the Jewels II by Killer Mike and El-P

    Concerto in A Minor for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 129 written by Robert Schumann performed by Yo-Yo Ma

    WATCHING
    Futurama

    Star Trek Original Series Season 1

    DOING

    Studying for Chartered Professional Analyst Level II Exam

    Trying to organize a writing and working out schedule

  • Twitter

