Les Misérables [REVIEW]

People love to start their conversations about Les Misérables with how much they hate musicals. Then if they’ve seen Les Misérables they qualify their first statement with a “but I loved Les Misérables”.

I doubt these people have seen many musicals and I’ll have to admit I don’t have a ton of experience with them either. So Les Misérables is somewhat new to me. I haven’t watched enough musicals or even thought about it enough to really know how I feel about them yet. I tend to lean towards them being not a favorite genre.

I think the singing most of the time got in the way of the story, a story which one can tell is much deeper and personal than the musical allows it to be. Something in me thinks that Victor Hugo would believe the stage sort of missed the point.

What this film did do for me was at least give me a respect for musicals. Some parts of this film were very moving and I don’t think they would’ve been that way in a normal dialogue drama. The music at times did out do the type of dramatic film I’m used to. The choruses were wonderful and most of the time out did the solo singers.

The film also made me interested in exploring this genre from the stage. So my Les Misérables review is I liked it but I didn’t love it but I’m admitting I don’t know what the hell I’m talking about either.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Watching Reading Listening Doing

    READING
    Stalingrad: The Fateful Siege: 1942-1943 by Anthony Beevor

    Eat That Frog!: 21 Great Ways to Stop Procrastinating and Get More Done in Less Time by
    Brian Tracy

    Sandman by Neil Gaiman

    LISTENING

    Colored Sands by Gorguts

    Run the Jewels II by Killer Mike and El-P

    Concerto in A Minor for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 129 written by Robert Schumann performed by Yo-Yo Ma

    WATCHING
    Futurama

    Star Trek Original Series Season 1

    DOING

    Studying for Chartered Professional Analyst Level II Exam

    Trying to organize a writing and working out schedule

  • Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

